Fall was here!

I looked out the window the other morning and it was raining. Pouring. The wind was whipping around the anniversary palm tree in the front yard, I could hear the Nebraska flag flapping against the garage and a leaf was blowing down the street.

It was gray outside. Eerie gray. Halloween gray. And all of the sudden my seasons switched, it was fall! I lit the pumpkin candle in the living room, grabbed some candy corn from our candy corn jar and went to the closet to put on a sweater. I held off on my boots because we don’t wear shoes in the house.

John was still on SWING shift, so when he left around two I was in such a good mood I decided to drive thirty minutes west for a yogurt date with my navy wife friend and her baby. I grabbed my purse and keys and stepped outside, a huge smile on my face, bracing for the chill.

A hundred degrees. It was a hundred degrees outside. With equal humidity. Sweating, I turned up the AC in the car and angrily drove west. So much for the fall spirit.

The next day was John’s day off. When he came in at midnight he said he would join me the next morning at the gym. I ignored him. It’s probably mean to get your sailor out of bed just a few hours after he was on the first half of the night shift. And I’m trying really hard not to be a complainer about his schedule or how I’m alone at night or how I have to tip toe around the house every day while he sleeps or how I’m not sleeping at all because I can’t sleep when it’s light out and I can’t sleep when there might be murderers lurking outside of our window.

I got up, got in weather appropriate gym clothes, shorts and a tank top, and started for the garage.

John stumbled through the bedroom door.

‘I’m coming,’ he said, his eyes still closed.

He got ready and we grabbed my grocery list to take with us to the Commissary after the gym. We exited through the laundry room, opened the garage door and…..

it was FREEZING!

But fall is now gone again.

Tonight I made butternut squash risotto to try to lure it back. I figure, if I continue acting like it’s fall, maybe fall will stop fighting it.

Risotto

Leave a comment