11.12.13

A year ago John and I went to see Garth Brooks perform live in Las Vegas.

John, of course, surprised me with the tickets, sticking out of a tiny envelop for a ‘monthiversary.’ I think it was three.

We flew there after work on a Friday night. I have to drink to fly, so in between gripping my Bud Light and gripping John’s hand, we started talking about getting married. For my distraction.

This wasn’t unusual. We’d been talking about that since day 1. On the fourth of July, when we met, I revealed that I wanted five (FIVE) kids (who SAYS THAT?? Or better, who LIES about that? I don’t want five. We want four.). We both knew this was it, so now it was just a game. We would joke about getting married, but we also knew we should probably wait a few more months. To save face.

On round three of the Bud Lights, the flight attendant asked us why were going to Vegas.

‘To GET MARRIED!’ John exclaimed.

‘No…we’re..no…’

John gave me a look.

We got a huge congratulations as we walked off the plane.

‘For what…’ I started to say.

John elbowed me.

Then John told the lady checking us into our hotel. Then John and I and two of his friends were treated to a champagne toast during dinner.

At that point I was getting annoyed. I really didn’t think it was that funny. That wasn’t really something I wanted to joke about with other people. Obviously we weren’t getting married that weekend. We hadn’t even said I love you.

We flew home that Sunday after an incredible Garth Brooks concert. I was sliding my bags through security when I caught John looking at my un-manicured nails.

‘Are you going to get fake nails for our wedding?’ He asked.

Huh? A. I’m not really the fake nail type. B. Who thinks about that? C. Who asks that?

‘When are we getting married?’ I replied.

‘Well,’ he said casually, ‘I was thinking we’ll get engaged late next year.’

I didn’t respond.

‘When do you want to get engaged?’ He asked.

‘I dunno.’ I said. Acting like I could care less. ‘Some random Tuesday.’

‘It has to be a cool date. Like…11.12.13.’

That seemed SO. INCREDIBLY. FAR. AWAY. Over a year. I didn’t want to wait that long.

John looked at the calendar on his phone. 11.12.13 was, of course, a random Tuesday.

This past weekend my mom and her friend Sue came to town. My mom and her friend Sue are hilarious together. And they’re the best kind of out of town guests. They like to walk around. Go to coffee shops. And learn everything about Charleston–which is fun for me, since I spend most of my time wandering around alone.

IMG_5463

I’m surrounded!

Bonus–they were super nice about our house. I’ve actually had guests come over that PUT OUR HOUSE DOWN. Saying it looks so much smaller than theirs. Or that they know someone with a really nice house, because their in the Air Force. ANGRY FISTS.

Anyway–my mom, Sue and I spent all day Monday downtown. I decided to make dinner at home so we could sit around and talk and they could spend some time with John (who was working days).

John was home when we got back. As I started dinner, he asked my mom if she wanted to see the paint job upstairs. It was a little odd. He didn’t ask Sue. And I’d already showed my mom the paint job. She said as much, but he convinced her to come look at it.

They left the next day. After I dropped them off at the airport, I went to the gym to cycle for a while. I was completely exhausted when I got home. I scrounged up some energy to make tortillas for turkey chili dinner, turned on Giada at Home, reclined my seat, and started to fall asleep.

John burst through the door at 3.

‘Let’s go for a run!’

For the first time, ever, I declined.

‘Let’s go for a walk!’

‘I’m tired,’ I said.

Ten minutes of going back and forth, I finally agreed. A walk.

He said I could choose between three places: Wannamaker Park over in North Charleston, the Ravenel Bridge, my favorite place in Charleston, or the Battery Downtown.

‘I don’t care.’ I said.

He chose the Battery.

John parked down by the water and we got out. We started walking.

It’s beautiful there. The old sea wall gives away to the harbor. It’s small–surprisingly so, for a city with such a historic and cultural presence. It was cold out that day and not a lot of people were on the sidewalk. John stopped to look at the water.

‘What island is that?’ He inquired.

‘John, I really don’t know.’

‘I need to tie my shoe.’ He leaned over for about ten minutes.

He asked again what the island was, and when I wouldn’t answer, we continued walking.

He stopped.

Then he started saying all these nice things to me. How much he loved me, how he wanted to be together forever. Etc. Half of me thought maybe this was it. Maybe we were going to get engaged? The other half was sure he was just messing with me. He usually is. And really, I was about to come out of my skin, so nervous that a flash mob was coming to embarrass me.

He got down on one knee and pulled out a ring.

‘Will you marry me?’

I’m always one for an awkward response.

‘Of course.’ I said hastily, still looking out of the corner of my eye to make sure I wasn’t the star of a humiliating proposal.

He put the ring on upsideown, on purpose. I had been telling him for months not to waste money on a diamond, just get a band. And I was serious. I’m not a big fan of jewely. I would rather save the money.

But I felt the diamond on my palm and turned it around.

photo 2

Woah

The most beautiful ring I’ve ever seen. I think then it hit me. John said he asked my dad. And had showed my mom upstairs the night before. He had actually lied to me on Monday, saying he was going to work, when really, he drove three hours to Charlotte, NC to buy the ring.

It was perfect. I was so stressed out that he was planning on performing some epic viral engagement where I would panic. Or that he would make me jump out of another plane. The simplicity of it was literally unbelievable. I really didn’t believe that that was it. Just like that.

The ring is now at the shop to get sized but…we’re engaged!

Get prepared for a Kansas City Wedding–2014.

The Band-Aid keeps it on.

The Band-Aid keeps it on.

One response to “11.12.13

  1. This is so good. I sent it to Sue. I’m glad you think were are good guests and funny together. Not things I would have ever said about my mom. You know what you need? a little measured pitcher to pour water into you coffee maker so it doesn’t spill. I know where I can get one.[?]

Leave a comment